Anti-Self-Defense Bill Introduced in the Washington House

Anti-Self-Defense Bill Introduced in the Washington House

Monday, April 11, 2011
House Bill 2067, introduced by state Representative Ross Hunter (D-48), would repeal the existing Washington law that provides for the reimbursement of legal defense costs to law-abiding citizens who are charged with a crime but found not guilty by reason of self-defense.  Here is actual language from the law that is proposed to be repealed:  “No person in the state shall be placed in legal jeopardy of any kind whatsoever for protecting by any reasonable means necessary, himself or herself, his or her family…  When a person charged with a crime…is found not guilty by reason of self-defense, the state of Washington shall reimburse the defendant for all reasonable costs…”

Self-defense is a fundamental right that can be weakened by overzealous prosecution.  Current law provides an incentive for prosecutors to give serious consideration to whether the accused has a viable claim of self-defense before the prosecution begins.  The repeal of HB 2067 would remove an important check and balance in Washington’s legal system.

HB 2067 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Ways & Means Committee this Wednesday, April 13 at 3:00 p.m.  Please contact your state Representative TODAY, by calling the toll-free legislative hotline, (800) 562-6000, and respectfully urge him or her to OPPOSE this anti-self-defense bill.  If your state Representative sits on the House Ways & Means Committee, please refer to the list below and call and e-mail their office directly. If you need help identifying your state Representative, please click here.

House Ways & Means Committee:

Representative Ross Hunter (D-48), Chairman
(360) 786-7936
ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeannie Darneille (D-27), Vice Chairman
(360) 786-7974
j.darneille@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bob Hasegawa (D-11), Vice Chair
(360) 786-7862
bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

Representative Gary Alexander (R-20)
(360) 786-7990
gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov

Representative Barbara Bailey (R-10)
(360) 786-7914
barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Dammeier (R-25)
(360) 786-7948
bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ed Orcutt (R-18)
(360) 786-7812
ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Reuven Carlyle (D-36)
(360) 786-7814
reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Chandler (R-15)
(360) 786-7960
bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Eileen Cody (D-34)
(360) 786-7978
eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Lou Dickerson (D-36)
(360) 786-7860
marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kathy Haigh (D-35)
(360) 786-7966
kathy.haigh@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Haler (R-8)
(360) 786-7986
larry.haler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bill Hinkle (R-13)
(360) 786-7808
bill.hinkle@leg.wa.gov

Representative Zack Hudgins (D-11)
(360) 786-7956
zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Sam Hunt (D-22)
(360) 786-7992
sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ruth Kagi (D-32)
(360) 786-7910
ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

Representative Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney (D-46)
(360) 786-7818
phyllis.kenney@leg.wa.gov

Representative Timm Ormsby (D-3)
(360) 786-7946
timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Kevin Parker (R-6)
(360) 786-7922
kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)
(360) 786-7838
eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

Representative Charles Ross (R-14)
(360) 786-7856
charles.ross@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Schmick (R-9)
(360) 786-7844
joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Seaquist (D-26)
(360) 786-7802
larry.seaquist@leg.wa.gov

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)
(360) 786-7822
larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)
(360) 786-7858
pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)
(360) 786-7912
jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

Copyright 2011, National Rifle Association of America, Institute for Legislative Action.
This may be reproduced. It may not be reproduced for commercial purposes.
11250 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030    800-392-8683